At the Threshold

Intervention by Emeka Ogboh

The intervention of the artist Emeka Ogboh (*1977 in Enugu, Nigeria) is preceded by the poster action "Missing in Benin" in the Dresden city area in January 2021. The campaign pursued the goal of addressing the absence of Benin Bronzes at their place of origin in Benin, in today's Nigeria, and to consolidate the significance of restitution in public perception. The posters depicted five bronzes that are part of the collection of the Museum für Völkerkunde Dresden and were expropriated from the Royal House of Benin in 1897 as part of a violent looting by the British military.

  • DATES 16/11/2021—04/09/2022

text 1

The newly developed work by Emeka Ogboh presents the Albertinum with a portrait of a Benin Bronze of his series “At the Threshold”. The Bronze is currently held in the collection of the Museum für Völkerkunde Dresden. With this intervention, the artist not only draws attention to a contested part of the collection of the State Art Collections Dresden addressing the presence and absence of the bronzes at their place of origin and in the collections of German museums, but at the same time raises the question of the mutual conditionality of European and non-European art. Emeka Ogboh intervenes precisely in the chronologically staged presentation of the museum's collection: The large-format photograph is displayed at the exact point where the theft of the bronzes by the British colonial power took place - in 1897.

Die begleitende Grafik

The accompanying graphic, initiated by the artist and compiled by the Museum für Völkerkunde Dresden, refers to the different, manifold, and long-standing claims for the restitution of African cultural heritage, particularly that of the historic Kingdom of Benin. A number of examples of artistic, curatorial, and activist campaigns are shown through associated visuals. The posters, brochures, and magazine covers attest to long-running and creative efforts to promote a right to cultural heritage and restitution, as well as to reparations.

Die Intervention

Emeka Ogboh's intervention was initiated by the Museum für Völkerkunde Dresden and the Albertinum. From December 3 onwards, further artistic works of his series “At the Threshold” will be shown parallely at the GRASSI Museum für Völkerkunde zu Leipzig. The museum in Leipzig is opening a first part of its new exhibition in the framework of the project REINVENTING GRASSI.SKD.

Emeka Ogboh

Emeka Ogboh was born in 1977 in Enugu in Nigeria and today lives in Berlin. The sound- and installation artist connects to places with his senses of hearing and taste. Through his works, Ogboh explores how private, public, collective memories and histories are translated, transformed and encoded into image, sound and food. These works contemplate how auditory and gustatory experiences capture existential relationships, frame our understanding of the world and provide a context in which to ask critical questions on immigration, globalization, and post-colonialism. Ogboh has participated in numerous international exhibitions including documenta 14, (2017), Skulptur Projekte Münster (2017), the 56th edition of La Biennale di Venezia (2015), and Dakar Biennale (2014).

.

weitere

Further Exhibitions

Museum für Völkerkunde Dresden

im Japanischen Palais

reich verzierte Holztür mit Fenster

Porzellansammlung

in Zwinger

Teekanne aus Porzellan

GRASSI Museum für Völkerkunde zu Leipzig

in GRASSI Museum Leipzig

To top

At the Threshold / An der Schwelle

Intervention von Emeka Ogboh

Der Intervention des Künstlers Emeka Ogboh (*1977 in Enugu, Nigeria) geht die Plakat-Aktion „Vermisst in Benin“ im Dresdner Stadtgebiet im Januar 2021 voraus. Die Aktion verfolgte das Ziel die Abwesenheit der Benin-Bronzen an ihrem Ursprungsort Benin, im heutigen Nigeria, zu thematisieren und die Bedeutsamkeit von Restitutionen in der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung zu verankern. Die Poster bildeten fünf Bronzen ab, die Teil der Sammlung des Museums für Völkerkunde Dresden sind und die im Jahr 1897 dem Könighaus Benin im Rahmen einer gewaltsamen Plünderung durch das britische Militär enteignet wurden.

  • Laufzeit 16.11.2021—26.06.2022
  • Öffnungszeiten aktuell geschlossen

Die neu von Emeka Ogboh

Die neu von Emeka Ogboh entwickelte Arbeit bringt das Porträt einer Benin-Bronze der Serie „At the Threshold“ („An der Schwelle“) in das Albertinum. Diese Bronze ist aktuell Teil der Sammlung des Museums für Völkerkunde Dresden. Mit der Aktion lenkt der Künstler Aufmerksamkeit auf einen umstrittenen Sammlungsteil der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden. Er thematisiert die An- und Abwesenheit der Bronzen an ihrem Ursprungsort und in den Sammlungen deutscher Museen. Zugleich stellt er die gegenseitige Bedingtheit europäischer und außereuropäischer Kunst zur Disposition. Emeka Ogboh greift in die chronologisch-inszenierte Sammlungspräsentation des Museums ein: Die großformatige Fotografie scheint exakt an der Stelle auf, an dem der Raub der Bronzen durch die britische Kolonialmacht erfolgte – im Jahr 1897.

Die begleitende Grafik

Die begleitende Grafik, von Emeka Ogboh initiiert und von dem Museum für Völkerkunde Dresden entwickelt, verweist auf die unterschiedlichen, vielzähligen und weit zurückreichenden Forderungen der Restitution afrikanischer Kulturgüter, darunter besonders die des historischen Königreichs Benin. Es werden einige Beispiele künstlerischer, kuratorischer und aktivistischer Kampagnen anhand des dazugehörigen Bildmaterials gezeigt. Die Poster, Broschüren und Magazincover zeugen von lang andauernden und kreativen Bemühungen, um ein Recht auf Kulturerbe und um Restitutionen sowie Reparationen.

Die Intervention

Die Intervention von Emeka Ogboh wurde gemeinsam vom Museum für Völkerkunde Dresden und dem Albertinum initiiert. Ab dem 3. Dezember 2021 werden parallel zur Intervention im Albertinum weitere künstlerische Arbeiten seiner Serie „At the Threshold“ („An der Schwelle“) im GRASSI Museum für Völkerkunde zu Leipzig zu sehen sein. Das Leipziger Museum eröffnet im Rahmen des Projekts REINVENTING GRASSI.SKD den ersten Teil seiner neuen Ausstellungspräsentation.

Emeka Ogboh

Emeka Ogboh wurde 1977 in Enugu in Nigeria geboren und lebt heute in Berlin. Der Sound- und Installationskünstler bedient sich eines sinnlichen Zugangs wie Hören und Schmecken, wenn er Beziehungen zu Orten herstellt. In seinen Arbeiten erforscht er wie private, öffentliche oder kollektive Erinnerungen und Geschichten in Bild, Klang und Geschmack übersetzt werden können, und setzt sich mit Fragen zu Migration, Globalisierung und Postkolonialismus auseinander. Ogboh hat an zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen teilgenommen, darunter die documenta 14 (2017), Skulptur Projekte Münster (2017), die 56. Ausgabe der La Biennale di Venezia (2015), und die Dakar Biennale (2014).

weitere

Weitere Ausstellungen der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden
Zum Seitenanfang